Our Houses

Our Houses

We recognise that our community along with our students thrives on a sense of:

  • Competition

  • Contribution

  • Belonging

  • Sportsmanship

  • History

  • Cultural identity

At Kawakawa Primary School we foster and develop these special characteristics of our community through our four houses: Ngapipito, Taumarere, Tirohanga and Waiomio.

These are the four awa that flow into the Kawakawa River. This is represented in our school emblem, a kawakawa leaf with four kowhaiwhai that meet at a central kowhaiwhai.

Throughout the school these houses are used to develop tuakana teina relationships, school pride and leadership with regular planned activities and reward systems. This all relating to our school values, principles, key competencies and vision.